## UTAH STATE RETIREMENT BOARD MINUTES OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE BOARD MEETING March 11, 2021, 3:00 p.m. Via Video Conference

## Participated via Video Conference:

Mr. David Damschen, Board President Mr. Larry Evans, Board Vice President Mr. Roger Donohoe, Board Member Mr. Richard Ellis, Board Member Mr. Ryan Hessenthaler, Board Member Ms. Laura Houston, Board Member

Excused: Mr. Bill Wallace, Board Member

### Staff Participated via Video Conference:

Mr. Dan Andersen, Executive Director Mr. Mark Cain, Deputy Executive Director Mr. Rob Dolphin, Chief Financial Officer Mr. Dee Larsen, General Counsel Mr. Chet Loftis, PEHP Director Ms. LuAnn Miskin, Executive Assistant

## **Guests Participated via Video Conference:**

Mr. Rowen Descallar, Fundmap, Pagaent Media Ltd

### Call to Order

President David Damschen called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m. and welcomed Board members and staff.

## **Approval of Minutes**

**ACTION:** Mr. Richard Ellis moved, seconded by Mr. Roger Donohoe, to approve the minutes of the February 11, 2021, Administrative Board Meeting. The motion passed unanimously, 6-0.

**ACTION:** Mr. Ryan Hessenthaler moved, seconded by Ms. Laura Houston, to approve the minutes of the February 16, 2021, Audit/Risk/Insurance Board Committee Meeting. The motion passed unanimously, 6-0.

**ACTION:** Mr. Larry Evans moved, seconded by Mr. Ryan Hessenthaler, to approve the minutes of the February 18, 2021, Investment Board Meeting. The motion passed unanimously, 6-0.

## **Review of Legislative Session – URS**

Mr. Dee Larsen gave a review of the 2021 legislative session and discussed certain legislation relating to URS, including the following:

- S.B. 16 1<sup>st</sup> Substitute, Retirement Systems Amendments
- S.J.R. 2, Retirement and Independent Entities Committee Amendments
- H.R. 5, House Rules Resolution Standing Committee Modifications
- S.R. 2, Senate Rules Resolution Standing Committee Modifications
- H.B. 150, Public Safety Post-retirement Reemployment Amendments
- H.B. 438, Law Enforcement Retirement Amendments
- S.B. 115 3<sup>rd</sup> Substitute, Retirement System Transparency Requirements
- S.B. 186, Anti-boycott Israel Amendments

### **Review of Legislative Session - PEHP**

Mr. Chet Loftis gave a review of the 2021 Legislative Session and discussed legislation relating to PEHP, including the following bills:

- H.B. 92, Public Employees Health Program Amendments
- H.B. 206, Epinephrine Auto-injector Access Amendments
- S.B. 19, Expanded Infertility Treatment Coverage Pilot Program Amendments
- H.B. 359, Dental Billing Amendments
- S.B. 140, Pharmacy Benefits Amendments
- S.B. 161, Mental Health Systems Amendments
- H.B. 419, Insurance Coverage for Volunteer Emergency Medical Services
  Personnel

### Preauthorization Reporting Requirement

Mr. Chet Loftis reviewed S.B. 264 that was passed in 2019 and requires PEHP to report certain statistics about preauthorization to the Board. This report satisfies this requirement. He reviewed the preauthorization statistics for 2020 including the average number of days for processing a preauthorization and the percentage of claims requiring more than seven days.

### **Contribution Rates Approval**

Mr. Dan Andersen reviewed the 2021-2022 Contribution Rates for final approval by the Board. He noted that there was no legislation passed in the 2021 legislative general session that affects the preliminary 2021-2022 Contribution Rates that were approved by the Board on August 13, 2020.

**ACTION:** Mr. Roger Donohoe moved, seconded by Mr. Richard Ellis, to give final approval of the Contribution Rates for 2021-2022 fiscal year as presented in the Board Meeting materials. The motion passed unanimously, 6-0.

## **Executive Session**

At 4:04 p.m., Ms. Laura Houston moved, seconded by Mr. Ryan Hessenthaler, to move into Executive Session to discuss fiduciary matters and conduct the Executive Director's Mid-Year Review. The motion passed unanimously, 6-0.

The following were present:

- Board Members
- Mr. Dan Andersen

At 4:59 p.m., Ms. Laura Houston moved, seconded by Mr. Richard Ellis, to move back into Open Session. The motion passed unanimously, 6-0.

# Adjournment

Mr. Roger Donohoe moved, seconded by Mr. Larry Evans, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously, 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

David C. Damschen, President

Daniel D. Andersen, Executive Director